Connect with us

Birmingham Stallions

Pittsburgh Maulers Give Birmingham Stallions Run For Their Money, Come Up Short (26-16)

After what was already a lackluster season for the Pittsburgh Maulers (1-5) and trying to keep their playoff chances insight, they had to face the undefeated Birmingham Stallions (6-0) in week seven. They nearly gave them a run for their money before giving up ten points in the 4th quarter to lose.

 Coach Kirby Wilson described the game as “Another stellar game by the defense that kept us in position all day and all afternoon to be in a position to win, but again critical breakdowns at critical moments we didn’t make enough plays, and that’s the ball game for us right there so back that’s where we are, and back to the drawing board, we got a quick turnaround with Friday being the next game.”

Maulers try to take an early lead

Vad Lee was out there for the Pittsburgh Maulers and started the game right off the bat, going three out and having to punt, which led to the Stallions putting the first points on the board by a good Field Goal by Brandon Aubrey. But on the very next series, the Maulers drove down the field with ten plays for seventy-one yards, with Madre London ending with a rushing touchdown and then a good extra point to have their first lead of the game.  

The rest of the first half would see punt after punt and some great defense by both teams; I think it should be noted that the Maulers held the red-hot Stallions to 139 yards for only 6 points in the first half; the first half would come to an end with the Maulers leading 10-6.

Stallions score 20 points in the second half to stay undefeated

The second half looked like a completely different team when the Stallions came back on the field, and the Maulers looked like the typical Maulers, only having 75 yards of offense and only having two field goals to show for it. Stallions came through with two touchdowns and 224 yards in the second half to secure their spot in the 2022 USFL Playoffs in Canton, Ohio, on June 25h, 2022.

The fourth quarter didn’t come without some drama for the Maulers as Coach Kirby Wilson would bench Vad Lee as they would have a confrontation on the sideline. With four minutes and twenty-five seconds left in the game with only being down a touchdown, Kirby Wilson would bench Lee to bring in newly signed Quarterback Rolland Rivers, who would not lead the team to any additional points. After the game, Coach Wilson was asked which quarterback would be starting next week. If there would now be a change, he stated, “right now we’ll have that decision internally of this week it’s very short turnaround we mentioned earlier, and after we take the motions out of this one and get back together tomorrow morning we’ll make a decision, and we’ll move forward whatever that decision is and get ready to play a game Friday.

With this late-game drama, could the Maulers have pulled off a victory and beat or tie the Stallions to take the game to an Overtime shootout? That is something we will never know, but it certainly drew a lot of criticism from fans, and everyone watching has pulled off a victory and beat or g on television of what exactly is happening with this Pittsburgh Team. Their coach Kirby Wilson has been an issue since day one.

Box Score

Birmingham Stallions

PASSINGCOMPCTYDSAVGTDINTQBR
Smith9/2437.51385.80139.9
TOTALS9/2437.51385.80139.9
                RUSHINGATTYDSAVGTDLNG
Scarbrough271003.7018
Holly15252.0152
Brooks-James33511.7019
Smith591.8011
Marable242.015
TOTALS382005.3252
RECEIVINGRECYDSAVGTDLNGTGT
Bolden Jr.34414.70234
Surratt44010.01175
Dereus33712.30187
Mitchell23316.51333
Marable3268.70133
Thomas22010.00132
McGough2189.01135
TOTALS2022811.433331
DEFENSIVETCKSOLSCKTFLINTPDTD
Hanks10501010
Robinson8400000
Gates6400000
Yarbary5322000
Shaw5301010
Newsome5201000
Tillery4300000
Henry3210000
Poling3200000
Allen2200000
McFarland2100000
Tillman2000000
Mitchell1100000
Hayes1100010
Aubrey1000000
Burns1000000
Adeoye1000000
Mills1000000
Baldwin1000000
Haney0000010
Costin0000010
TOTALS0000010
FUMBLESFUMLSTFFREC
Costin0001
Henry0010
TOTALS0011
KICK RETURNRETYDSAVGLNGTD
Brook-James24723.5330
TOTALS24723.5330
PUNT RETURNRETYDSAVGLNGTD
Bolden Jr.133.030
TOTALS133.030
KICKINGFGPCTLNGXPPTS
Aubrey4/4100452/214
TOTALS2/2100393/39
PUNTINGNOAVG20TBLNGBLK
Wadman439.200520
TOTALS439.200520

Pittsburgh Maulers

PASSINGCOMPCTYDSAVGTDINTQBR
Lee6/1442.9584.10055.1
Rivers3/933.3252.80042.4
TOTALS9/2339.1833.600
RUSHINGATTYDSAVGTDLNG
London18995.5119
Groshek10292.907
Daniel210.502
TOTALS301294.3119
RECEIVINGRECYDSAVGTDLNGTGT
Daniel22110.50173
Gaither2199.50113
Hennie3186.0085
McCleskey11818.00183
Groshek177.0071
Hardaway00003
Lynn00001
London00001
TOTALS9839.201820
DEFENSIVETCKSOLSCKTFLINTPDTD
Elmore10400000
Tezino8601000
Torneden7411110
Zandier5301000
Kemp5100000
Warren4401000
Player4312000
Pharms Jr.4200000
Beckner Jr.3311000
Bonds3200020
Howard3101000
Sagapolu2000000
Brown2100010
Gipson Jr.1100010
Tarpley III1100000
Alexander1100000
TOTALS633838160
FUMBLESFUMLSTFFREC
Lee1100
TOTALS1100
KICK RETURNRETYDSAVGLNGTD
Hennie614924.8340
TOTALS614924.8340
PUNT RETURNRETYDSAVGLNGTD
Hennie23718.5330
TOTALS23718.5330
KICKINGFGPCTLNGXPPTS
Ahmed3/475581/110
TOTALS4/580601/113
PUNTINGNOAVG20TBLNGBLK
Duffy447.211590
TOTALS447.211590

Week 8 Matchup

The Pittsburgh Maulers will face the New Jersey Generals on Friday, June 3rd at 8:00 pm ET / 7:00 pm CT / 6:00 pm MT / 5:00 pm PT on USA Network.

The Birmingham Stallions will take on the New Orleans Breakers on Saturday, June 4th, at 3:00 pm ET / 2:00 pm CT / 1:00 pm MT / 12:00 pm PT on Fox.

Stay with USFL News Hub as we close in on the final three weeks of the USFL 2022 Season, and be on the lookout for my Pittsburgh Maulers vs. New Jersey Generals Preview/Prediction coming later this week.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Get Alerts & Stay Connected

Android USFL App

More in Birmingham Stallions